top of page

Sustainable Fashion. It's a Lifestyle.


Fashion is the 3rd most polluting industry in the world, right behind oil and agriculture. Not many people know or even realize how dark and poisonous the fashion industry can be. From dye run offs into community water sources, sweat shop environments oversees and HERE, to the fast fashion mass-produced clothing that lasts for a week. Although this industry can be somewhat devastating, it can be very beautiful if we partake in a more conscious sustainable way. 

As far as I can remember i've always been very environmentally conscious. Whether it was me taking all the cans and bottles to the recycle station, unplugging all the plugs not being used, timing my showers or never being wasteful and picky on food. These were just practices that came naturally to me and also I had a love for science at an early age too. 

Here are a few MIND-BLOWING facts about our industry:

1. On average, e-commerce about 30% less energy than traditional retail. Hit that cart button. 

2. American throw away an estimated 68 lbs per person per year. Always donate or recycle. 

3. Most garments lose 15% of material from cutting patterns. Donate or reuse leftovers. 

4. Americans throw away 7,000 water bottles every second and they take about 450 years to biodegrade. Buy a re-usable water canteen. 

5. Air drying your clothes just 6 months of the year can save 700 lbs of CO2. Your clothes deserve to play outside too. 

So these might sound alarming and make you just want to curl up in corner, but there are some amazing things you can do on your end to change that. 

For me i'm constantly educating myself on what's the latest in innovations, who's who, and even still hearing about the scary stories in our industry today. I recommend networking events, panels, expos, and connecting with like-minded people. You can typically find some wonderful opportunities on Eventbrite, Facebook, Linkedin, or even you local town site. I've been honored to be part of the EcoSessionsLA team, as we host monthly panels and events on everything sustainable and ethical. This organization was started by the amazing Kate Black from Magnifeco. The connections are out there! 

Also, trying to connect and surround yourself with like-minded people.

This is definitely a personal preference for me but I find so much more inspiring and up-lifting talking about what makes me wake up everyday. Within the past 3 years of committing myself to sustainable fashion only I have go to meet some amazing people and now friends. Trust me, i've seen the dark side of fashion and it's pretty cut-throat. But why? The people I have all the common goals, to help make our industry and world for future generations to come. I mean i have my fair share of friends who aren't eco-warriors but it all comes to balance in the end for anyone wanting to separate the two. 

So whether it’s abiding by the three R’s, buying consciously, volunteering at your local organizations, or changing your shopping habits. For me, it’s everything and everywhere so I can help our planet daily and show others like yourself it can be done. 

Share you story on how you live sustainable or have any best practices 💚

- Greenwithstyle 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page